Human Relations Commission
Skip to Content
  • Contact Us
  • Text Size - Metro Government of Allentown (Print logo)

Human Relations Commission


In the 1960s, the City of Allentown passed an anti-discrimination ordinance, to promote mutual understanding and to prohibit discrimination. This legislation created the Allentown Human Relations Commission, empowering it to implement the ordinance.

Under this ordinance, all persons in Allentown, regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, place of birth, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, disability, marital status, age (over 40), family status in housing, handicap or disability, or use of a guide or support animal because of blindness, deafness or physical disability enjoy the full benefits of citizenship and are afforded equal opportunities for employment, housing, and use of public accommodation facilities. The ordinance establishes this list of characteristics to define who is protected from discrimination; these are called protected classes.

If you wish to become a member of the Allentown Human Relations Commission, please complete this application.

Janet Morillo
Term expires: 4/4/2021

Scotty Smith
Term expires: 1/25/2022

Linda Vega
Term expires: 12/31/2020

Connie Santos
Term expires: 1/21/2020

Hamp Smith
Term expires: 10/25/2022

Tracie Springer
Term expires: 2/1/2019

Patrick Palmer
Term expires: 1/1/2020

Donna Forrester
Term expires: 12/31/2019

Wendy Escarfullery
Term expires: 10/25/2019

Inga Williams
Term expires: 6/12/2020
Student Commissioners
Dieruff H.S.
Angela Dergham
Desteny Lancheros

William Allen H.S.
David Bennett
Joshua Fedrick

Building 21
Mason Claherty
Zander Doughlas