Skip to Content
  • Contact Us
  • Text Size

 allentownpa.gov - Metro Government of Allentown (Print logo)

Recycling & Solid Waste

Thursday, March 5- There will be normal trash and recycling collection as scheduled. Thank you. 

RECYCLING INFORMATION


CURBSIDE RECYCLING:

GREEN BIN: Bottles & Cans
Aluminum and steel cans, glass bottles, plastic #1 through #7 bottles and containers (water, soda, milk, laundry, yogurt, margarine, cups, etc.), cartons (milk, juice, broth, etc.)

 

BLUE BINPaper & Cardboard
All white & colored paper, mail, magazines, catalogs, Cardboard and paperboard (cereal boxes, tissue boxes, drink carriers, etc.), newspapers, circulars, flyers, brochures, phone books, hard & soft covered books, brown paper bags. Flatten bigger boxes and place next to the blue bin.   

Every resident and tenant must have a green and blue bin.  They are FREE and available at the Bureau of Recycling & Solid Waste, 1400 Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr. 

PLEASE NO TV'S OR COMPUTERS OR ELECTRONICS AT THE CURB.
  For more information Electronics Recycling.

The Allentown Recycling Drop Off Center
Martin Luther King Jr Dr, next to the 15th St. bridge
Open 24/7 to everyone


Recycle at the Drop Off Center:

  • Corrugated cardboard
  • Paperboard (cereal & food boxes, tissue & shoe boxes, paper egg cartons, paper drink carriers, etc.)
  • Mixed color paper & magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Books and phone books
  • Glass bottles and jars
  • Cans, aluminum foil and pie plates
  • ALL plastic bottles, tubs, buckets & containers marked #1 through #7 (water, soda, laundry, yogurt, margarine, ketchup, shampoo, etc.)
  • Metal items (washing machines, aluminum siding, bicycles, metal fences, etc.)
  • Clothing, shoes, hats, drapes, etc.
  • *Paper accepted for shredding Monday-Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, and Saturday 8:00 am-12:00 pm.
  • FOR MORE INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT THE HOTLINE AT 610-437-8729 OR VISIT Allentown Recycles.
Contact Information


Ann Saurman
Manager
610-437-8729
Ann.Saurman@Allentownpa.gov

Tom Harper
SWEEP Manager and
Animal Control Manager
Thomas.Harper@Allentownpa.gov

Eric Trobetsky
Operations Manager
Eric.Trobetsky@Allentownpa.gov

Christine Stephens
Education & Enforcement Manager
Christine.Stephens@Allentownpa.gov

Serena Davis
Recycling Coordinator
Serena.Davis@Allentownpa.gov

Gabrielle Heiney
Office Manager
Gabrielle.Heiney@Allentownpa.gov