Skip to Content
  • Contact Us
  • Text Size

 allentownpa.gov - Metro Government of Allentown (Print logo)

Bureau of Engineering

Renovated Second Street Bridge
Roadway view of the newly renovated Second Street Bridge
 

Mission Statement:

 

The Bureau of Engineering provides quality professional engineering design and inspection capabilities for all City sponsored infrastructure including, but not limited to sanitary sewer, storm drainage portable water, streets, and bridges, as well as all transportation related and environmental projects.  The Engineering department handles everything in the public right-of-way; it does not handle issues on private property.

 

COVID-Related Information

Our office is open to the public for your permit needs or any other concerns you may have relating to the Bureau of Engineering. You will be required to wear a mask at all times. Social distancing is practiced while at our counter area. If you prefer, you may also apply for permits via email as shown below.

Encroachment Permits & Cross Over Applications continue to be processed and issued. If you are unable to apply in-person, you may submit your applications or questions via email at curbandsidewalkpermits@allentownpa.gov; you will be emailed with further instructions upon approval.

Emergency Excavation Permits continue to be processed. If you are unable to apply in-person, please email curbandsidewalkpermits@allentownpa.gov with the Business name and phone number, property address with owners name, size of the open cut and a PA ONE call number. You will receive further instructions via email.

Please go to the permits and applications tab and print all forms for curb and sidewalk permits.

Any complaints or other questions please dial 610-437-7576, Ext. 2260 and leave a message; we will get back to you as soon as possible.

Our mailing address is:

  • Engineering Department
    641 S. 10th St. - 3rd Floor
    Allentown, PA 18103

*  Engineering office hours: Monday - Friday, 7:30 am to 4:00 pm.

*  Please view our safety notice on how the Bureaus of Engineering and Traffic Planning and Control are prepared to comply with Governor Wolf's directive for the resumption of Construction with limitations within the State of Pennsylvania.

(information updated 11/09/2021)

 

 

Office Hours

  • Monday - Friday
  • 7:30 am to 4:00 pm
 

Payment

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Money Orders
Contact Information

Craig Messinger
Director of Public Works
610-437-7587
Fax: 610-437-7614
Craig.Messinger@Allentownpa.gov

Mark Shahda
Deputy Director of Public Works
610-437-7583
Mark.Shahda@Allentownpa.gov

David Petrik
City Engineer
610-437-7574
David.Petrik@Allentownpa.gov

Brian L. Borzak
Chief Surveyor
610-437-7574
Brian.Borzak@Allentownpa.gov

Gabrielle Heiney
Public Works Operations Manager
610-437-8729
Fax: 610-437-8732
Gabrielle.Heiney@Allentownpa.gov

Suzanne Dobel
Public Works Project Manager
610-437-7574
Suzanne.Dobel@allentownpa.gov

Kyle Sergent 
Public Works Project Manager
610-437-7574
Kyle.Sergent@Allentownpa.gov

Lisa Cocca
Office Manager
610-437-7576
Lisa.Cocca@Allentownpa.gov