Engineering
Skip to Content
  • Contact Us
  • Text Size

 allentownpa.gov - Metro Government of Allentown (Print logo)

Engineering Bureau COVID-19 Update:


Encroachment Permits and Cross Over Applications continue to be processed and issued. Please submit the applications or questions via email at kyle.sergent@allentownpa.gov, you will be emailed when approved and given further instruction.


Emergency Excavation Permits will also continue to be processed.  Please email lisa.cocca@allentownpa.gov with the Business name and phone number, property address with owners name, size of the open cut and a PAONE call number.  You will be emailed back with further instructions.

 

All other permits will not be issued at this time. 

 

Any complaints or other questions please dial 610-437-7576, Ext. 2260 and leave a message; we will get back to you as soon as possible.


Our mailing address is:

Engineering Department

641 S 10th St - 3rd Floor

Allentown, PA 18103


 

Engineering Bureau


Roadway view of the newly renovated Second Street Bridge

Mission Statement:

The Bureau of Engineering provides quality professional engineering design and inspection capabilities for all City sponsored infrastructure including, but not limited to sanitary sewer, storm drainage portable water, streets, and bridges, as well as all transportation related and environmental projects.  The Engineering department handles everything in the public right-of-way; it does not handle issues on private property.

Click here to submit a snow or ice removal complaint.

The following forms of payment are accepted at Engineering:
  • Cash
  • Check
Contact Information

Craig Messinger
Director of Public Works
610-437-7587
Fax: 610-437-7614
Craig.Messinger@Allentownpa.gov

Mark Shahda
Deputy Director of Public Works
610-437-7587
Mark.Shahda@Allentownpa.gov

Mark Geosits, PE
Senior Civil Engineer/Assistant City Engineer
610-437-7587
Mark.Geosits@Allentownpa.gov

Richard Rasch
Associate Utility Engineer
610-437-7587
Richard.Rasch@allentownpa.gov

Brian L. Borzak
Chief Surveyor
610-437-7574
Brian.Borzak@Allentownpa.gov

Kyle Sergent 
Construction Operations Manager
610-437-7576
Kyle.Sergent@Allentownpa.gov

Casandra Magliane
Public Works Operations Manager
610-437-7587
Casandra.Magliane@allentownpa.gov

Lisa Cocca
Office Manager
610-437-7576
Lisa.Cocca@Allentownpa.gov