Skip to Content
  • Contact Us
  • Text Size - Metro Government of Allentown (Print logo)

News Archive

Pawlowski Receives Award for Excellence

Pawlowski Receives Award for Excellence
Allentown Mayor Ed Pawlowski has been honored with the 2013 Governor’s Award for Local Government Excellence.

Pawlowski was one of eight local government leaders and 12 communities across the state to receive recognition from Pennsylvania Lt. Governor Jim Cawley, on behalf of Governor Tom Corbett.

The award was presented at a ceremony yesterday at the Pennsylvania State Capitol East Wing Rotunda as part of Local Government Day. The Governor’s Awards for Local Government Excellence are presented annually to communities and individuals by the Governor’s Center for Local Government Services (GCLGS), an office within the Department of Community and Economic Development that works to assist Pennsylvania’s 2,562 local governments.

The award recognizes local governments whose exceptional efforts have resulted in improved service delivery and whose achievement or program serves as a model for Pennsylvania’s local governments.

“The governor and I understand the immense responsibility you all have to provide solutions that make your community a vibrant place to live, work and raise a family,” Cawley said. “Today is recognition of your dedication to public service, and a celebration of leadership and innovation that has resulted in vibrant communities for the citizens you serve.”

“I am deeply honored to be recognized by the Governor’s Center for Local Government Services,” said Pawlowski. “My administration has worked extremely hard to leverage the progress we had made over the past several years and turn that progress in success. We have planned for economic development, blight elimination, redevelopment, crime prevention and more; all these things are coming together to transform our city.”

The community awards cover 10 categories, including: building community partnerships; promoting community and economic revitalization; innovative community and governmental initiatives; fiscal accountability; innovative planning and sound land-use practices; intergovernmental cooperation; responding to adversity; innovative energy conservation; and innovative environmental partnerships.

A panel of judges from the GCLGS reviewed applications submitted by municipal organizations and officials from across the state and selected the award recipients.
Posted in: | View Count: (6298)