Skip to Content
 allentownpa.gov - Metro Government of Allentown (Print logo)

Streets Department

The Streets Department is responsible for the paving and reconstruction of streets, alleys, and the restoration of utility cuts and trenches; repair of sinkholes, frost boils and pot holes, crack-sealing, shaping unimproved streets, and minor maintenance of bridges.

The stormwater staff develops and implements procedures to carry out the requirements of the City's separate Storm Sewer Permit, NPDES No. PA-0063665 and Section 402(p) of the Clean Water Act (Storm Water Rules) and monitors water quality in the watersheds to ensure the primary sources of water for the public water supply are not degraded.

Coverage is also provided for a variety of civic service projects and for any emergency situations. This Department incorporates all phases of salting, pre-wetting of City streets prior to a snow storm event, sanding, plowing and snow removal with 24 hour coverage during the winter season (November to April). This department includes hand sweeping by City crews of City streets, alleys and certain posted areas which are not a part of the automatic sweeping department. The Streets Department is responsible for the entire removal of leaves from the city streets.

  • For daily updates on our Street Cleaning operations, call the “Street Cleaning Hotline” at 610-437-7636.
  • Curbside yardwaste collection is in effect from the first full week of April and ends the week of Thanksgiving. If you have any questions please contact Recycling & Solid Waste at 610-437-8729.
  • For information on our Winter Operations, call the "Snow Operations Hotline" at 610-437-7669.
  • To report un-shoveled sidewalks, call the Engineering Department at 610-437- 7596.

Miles of City Street

263.5 miles of City Streets; 133 miles of Alleys; 25 miles of State Highway

Parking Tickets

Issues concerning parking tickets should be directed to the Allentown Parking Authority NOT the Streets Department. The Allentown Parking Authority can be contacted at 610.841.9090; www.allentownparking.com

State Roadway Concerns

For information related to highway & state roadway concerns including: potholes, stormwater and drainage concerns, traffic related concerns, brush cutting along the highways, or property damage incurred by PennDOT operations, call 1.800.FIX.ROAD  

Streets Department Staff

Contact Information

Mark Shahda
Streets Superintendent
610-437-7638
Fax: 610-437-8719
Mark.Shahda@Allentownpa.gov

Casandra Magliane
Public Works Operations Manager
Casandra.Magliane@Allentownpa.gov

Chief Maintenance Supervisors

Stephen Kramer
Street Cleaning
Stephen.Kramer@Allentownpa.gov

Dale Tretter
Streets Maintenance
Dale.Tretter@Allentownpa.gov

Robert Wootsick
Stormwater
Robert.Wootsick@Allentownpa.gov

Street Maintenance Supervisors

Abdallah Ballan
Abdallah.Ballan@Allentownpa.gov

Herbert Bender
Herbert.Bender@Allentownpa.gov

Robbie Correll
Robbie.Correll@Allentownpa.gov

Stormwater Maintenance Supervisors

Edward Neidermeier
Edward.Neidermeier@Allentownpa.gov

Scott Reppert
Scott.Reppert@Allentownpa.gov